Header logo

أنا اسمي غادة السويد، قائدة ريادية صاحبة رؤية ومحفَّزة للتغيير الاجتماعي والسلوكي المستدام. وأنا حاليًا باحثة دكتوراه في علوم صحة السكان بكلية لندن الجامعية (المصنفة بالمرتبة الخامسة عالميًا في مجال الصحة العامة)، تتضمن أبحاثي دمج الحلول الرقمية الجديدة لتعزيز السلوكيات والنواتج الصحية للنساء في منتصف العمر، وأنا شغوفة بشكل خاص بتشجيع النشاط البدني. إلى جانب أنَّني شغوفة دائمًا بقيادة التغييرات الاستراتيجية، سعيًا لتطوير حلول مبتكرة وأفكار ريادية ودعم اتخاذ إجراءات مؤثرة، نحو مجتمعات أكثر صحةً وإنصافًا.

 

"زمالة مسك بوابة لتجهيز القادة الناشئين"

صُمم برنامج زمالة مسك لمساعدة القادة الصاعدين على بناء اللبنات الأساسية للتغيير الإيجابي والفعالية الشخصية والابتكار. هذا البرنامج المُطور جيدًا هو بمثابة برنامج مسرّع لتحويل الخريجين الموهوبين إلى صنَّاع تغيير مستقبليين.

 

مع تفشي الجائحة في عام 2020، أدركت كم أنا مهتمة بإحداث تغيير إيجابي على الصعيدين الفردي والمجتمعي. ولذلك، تقدمت بطلب الالتحاق ببرنامج زمالة مسك، باعتباره فرصة تعليمية لتعزيز مهاراتي القابلة للنقل في المقام الأول؛ لكن ما إن بدء البرنامج رسميًا، لاحظت تأثيره في نفسي وفي أدائي. وبصفتي مدربة ناشئة في مجال صحة المرأة وسلوك النشاط البدني بواحدة من كليات البحث الرائدة على مستوى العالم، فقد منحني طلب الالتحاق ببرنامج زمالة مسك مساحةً حرجةً للتفكير بعمق في ما أفعله وما الدافع ورائه.

 

"فرصة غير مسبوقة لتوسيع نطاق الإمكانيات"

كانت المشاركة في أكثر من 500 ساعة من التدريب المهني والتوجيه والتعلم المستقل وبناء شبكات العلاقات المهنية على مدى ستة أشهر، أثناء تحضير رسالة الدكتوراة، فرصةً استثنائيةً للاستعداد للمرحلة التالية من حياتي.

 

فبمجرد أن سجلت اسمي في برنامج زمالة مسك، بدأت أركز انتباهي على إنشاء دوائر نفوذي وشبكات العلاقات المهنية اللازمة لإحداث الأثر الإيجابي الذي أردت تحقيقه خلال رحلتي لنيل درجة الدكتوراه، ولاحقًا لتمكين المرأة السعودية في منتصف العمر من التمتع بالنشاط البدني والاستمتاع بحياة أفضل. وقد مكّنني النهج دائم التغيير والقائم على الحاجة للبرنامج من تطوير مهارات المرونة وسرعة التكيف وتحديد أولوياتي على أفضل وجه.

 

أمَّا على المستوى الشخصي، فقد كانت هناك ثلاثة دروس رئيسية مستفادة من تجربتي بالمشاركة في برنامج زمالة مسك لمدة 6 أشهر: أولاً، ضرورة الاعتراف بالصعوبات المستمرة، والبحث عن الجذور الأساسية للمشكلة المطروحة، وتكوين نفوذي عن طريق التمتع بالمصداقية.

 

    كل لحظة في زمالة مسك مهمة جدًا... باختصار، إن كان بمقدورك اتخاذ القرار بالانضمام لها - وأنا أعتقد أنَّ هذا الخيار متاح دائمًا أمامك - فصدّقني، ما كنت لترغب في تفويت هذه الفرصة!  

  

في هذه الأثناء، كان لرؤية المملكة العربية السعودية 2030 الفضل في إتاحة عدد لا يُحصى من فرص التمكين والترقي إلى مناصب الإدارة العليا والمراكز العليا للمرأة السعودية، ولا سيما لمَن يتمتعن بسير ذاتية مزدهرة وخبرات استثنائية منهنّ. ومع ذلك، فقد اكتسبت الأنماط الناشئة للحلول المبتكرة الرامية إلى تعزيز سلوكيات نمط الحياة الصحي في منتصف العمر، ومن ثم إجراء الإصلاحات على السياسات ذات الصلة بحيث تلبي احتياجات نساء الجيل العاشر [أولئك اللواتي ولدن خلال الأعوام 1966-1980] والأجيال التي تليها، أهميةً أكبر من أي وقت مضى.

 

إنَّ عملي في مجال الدكتوراه متوائم مع أجندة أهداف التنمية المستدامة؛ إذ إنَّني أبحث في نقطة الالتقاء بين التكنولوجيا في مجال الصحة، وتغيير سلوك النشاط البدني، والنساء في منتصف العمر اللواتي يمرن بسن انقطاع الطمث وهي مجالات ظلت لفترة طويلة جدًا مهملةً في المجال البحثي، وموضوعًا يحظر على النساء في كل مكان مناقشته، ولا سيما في المملكة العربية السعودية. وبصفتي باحثة ومناصرة للصحة العامة، هدفي هو التوفيق بين التدخلات التكنولوجية  في مجال الصحة وتغيير سلوك النشاط البدني، لتوفير الدعم للمرأة السعودية في سن انقطاع الطمث خلال هذه المرحلة الانتقالية، من بدايتها إلى نهايتها، ومن ثم تحقيق نتائج سريرية أفضل في نهاية المطاف.

  

ولا شك أنَّ الاعتراف بي رسميًا كزميلة في برنامج زمالة مسك كان بمثابة علامةً فارقةً وتجربة إثرائية من شأنها أن تفتح آفاقًا جديدة لمسيرتي المهنية. أنا أسعى حاليًا لإجراء مشروع بحثي فريد من نوعه في المملكة العربية السعودية، يهدف إلى زيادة الوعي بالصحة العامة وتطبيع الحوار حول سن انقطاع الطمث؛ بما أنَّنا لا نتعلم أي شيء عن هذا الموضوع من المدارس أو الأخبار أو وسائل الإعلام. لذا فأنا أتطلع إلى التعاون مع مجموعة من الجهات الوطنية الفاعلة، ومطوري التطبيقات المحليين، والنساء من المجتمع المحلي، للمشاركة في الأبحاث السريرية السعودية لتحويل الأدلة إلى ابتكار اجتماعي ناجح.

 

 

الفئات

Header logo

“My research involves incorporating novel digital solutions to promote health behaviors and outcomes of midlife women with a passion for supporting physical activity.  I am always passionate about leading strategic changes to cultivate innovative solutions and entrepreneurial ideas and advocate for impactful actions towards healthier, more equitable societies.”

Ghada AlSwayied is currently a PhD researcher in Population Health Sciences at UCL (ranked 5th in the world for public health) and is a motivator for sustainable socio-behavioral change.

 

 ‘It serves as a gateway to equip emerging leaders’

The Misk Fellowship Program is designed to help rising leaders build essential blocks for positive change, personal effectiveness and innovation. This well-developed program acts as a fast-track scheme to turn talented graduates into future change-makers. 

 

As the pandemic hit the world in 2020, I realized how obsessive I am towards creating positive change within individual and community levels. I applied for the Misk Fellowship in the first place as a learning opportunity to strengthen my transferable skills. However, once it kicked off, I noticed the impact on myself and my performance. As a rising guru on women’s health and physical activity behavior at one of the world-leading research schools, applying for the Misk Fellowship gave me the critical space to deeply reflect on WHAT I’m doing and WHY I’m doing it. 

 

‘Unprecedented opportunity to stretch potentials’

Taking part in +500 hours of professional training, mentoring, independent learning and networking over six months while PhDing was an exceptional opportunity to prepare me for the next chapter of my life. 

 

Soon after dipping my toe in the Misk Fellowship Program, I began to focus my attention on developing my own spheres of influence and the networks needed to make the positive impact I wanted to achieve throughout my PhD journey and later to empower middle-aged Saudi women to become physically active and live their best lives. The dynamic, need-driven approach of the program has allowed me to develop resilience skills and set priorities in the best sense.

 

On a personal level, three main takeaways stand out from my 6-month experience with Misk Fellowship: firstly, to admit constant challenges, look for the underlying roots of the issue at hand, and ignite my influence through authenticity.

 

Every moment at the Misk Fellowship matters… In a nutshell, if you can make it –which I believe is always a choice of yours– then trust me, you would NOT want to miss it!

 

A message to share about your current achievements/work/the program, where do you see yourself and/or what goals and ambitions do you have for the near future. what type of impact do you hope to make in that industry in Saudi Arabia?

Meanwhile, Vision 2030 has unlocked a myriad of opportunities for Saudi women to get empowered and for those with flourishing resumes and distinguished experiences to rise into the C-Suite and senior positions. Though, emerging patterns of innovative solutions to promote healthy lifestyle behaviors during midlife and so reforming relevant policies to meet the needs of women of Gen X [those born between 1966-1980] and beyond have become more important than ever.

 

My PhD work aligns with the SDG agendas where I am looking into the intersection between health tech, physical activity behavior change and middle-aged women undergoing menopause. For far too long, this has been a neglected area of research and a taboo subject to discuss for women everywhere, including Saudi Arabia. As a public health researcher and advocate, my goal is to partner health tech interventions with physical activity behavior change to support Saudi menopausal women throughout the entire transition and ultimately achieve better clinical outcomes.                                                                                      

  

Being officially recognized as a MISK Fellow was, undoubtedly, a milestone to me and an enriching experience that will open up new doors for my career. I am keen to undertake a one-of-a-kind research project in Saudi Arabia to raise public health awareness and normalize conversation on menopause since we learn nothing about it in schools, news, and media. I look forward to collaborating with a group of active national entities, local app developers, and women from the community to step in and get involved in the Saudi-based clinical research to convert evidence into successful social innovation.



Categories