Header logo

 

لطالما كانت الفنون بكل أنواعها مرآة الشعوب والانعكاس الحسي لثقافتها وموروثها، وبالفنون خُلّدت أخبار الأمم والحضارات، ومن تلك الفنون فن العمارة والتشييد، فتلك أعمدة الأكروبوليس الشامخة فوق أثينا شاهدة على فلسفة اليونانيين ونظرتهم للمرأة التي تحمل الأعباء، وفي آثار مصر نجد أن من شيّدوا المعابد المهولة والأضرحة الضخمة، لم يهتموا ببناء القصور والمساكن الدنيوية، فالفلسفة والثقافة الفرعونية تُولِي الحياة الآخرة كل اهتمامها وفق معتقداتهم، بينما تجلّى تأثير الثقافة الإسلامية في عمارة المساجد، فاستطالت أضلاعها المتعامدة على القبلة؛ ليُدرك أكبر عدد من المصلين أجر الصف الأول، واستُبدلت الزخارف الآدمية والحيوانية فيها بالورقيات والآرابيسك.

لكن في عصرنا الحالي أصبح مفهوم الفن أكثر شمولاً ابتداءً من الفن السابع، مرورًا بالسينما، وصولاً للأعمال الفنية ذات البعد الاستثماري البحت، كالمسلسلات القائمة على نسب وأعداد المشاهدات والتي تتوقف أو تستمر حسب نتائجها.

وإذا سلّمنا أنه عبر التاريخ كانت الفنون انعكاساً وترجمةً للثقافة؛ فإنه من الصعب جداً إطلاق هكذا توصيف للعلاقة بينهما في عصرنا الحالي.

وهنا لا نتحدث عن الصواب والخطأ، بل عن مدى قدرة الفن في إعادة صياغة الثقافة وتحرير الراسخ منها من قيود التسليم المطلق؛ لتكون أكثر مرونة وتكيّفًا مع موجات ومتطلبات العصر السياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية سريعة التطور.

يعتبر المخرج السوفيتي سيرجي آيزنشتاين أول من وظف الأعمال السينمائية للدعاية للثورة والتسويق للشيوعية، وهو الأمر الذي استغله لينين فيما بعد؛ لاستقطاب الأمّيين من الشعب حتى بات الإيمان بالفكرة الشيوعية سمة أساسية للمجتمع الروسي الذي خرج من النقيض تمامًا من تحت ظل سيطرة القيصر لتوه.

 

وهنا أقتبس من مقالة للأستاذ عبد المحسن المطيري "من خلال تحليل مونتاج المقطع الشهير الخطوات أوديسا في فيلمه (المدمرة بوتمكين) ندرك أننا لسنا مجرد متفرجين، بل نحن متفاعلون مع المشاهد، بمعنى أن آيزنشتاين صنع لقطاته للتأثير المباشر على ذهنية وسيكولوجية المشاهد من أجل كسب تعاطفه التام مع الثورة الروسية".

مع ذلك إذا تأملنا  نظرية الغرس الثقافي -  Cultivation theory  التي ظهرت عقب أحداث العنف والاضطرابات نهاية فترة الستينات بالولايات المتحدة من خلال الدعائم الأساسية للنظرية التي وضعها جورج جربنر (مؤسس نظرية الغرس الثقافي)، والتي تعتبر أن "التليفزيون يقدم عالمًا متماثلًا من الرسائل والصور الذهنية تعبر عن الاتجاه السائد"؛ نجد أنها تعتبر الغرس عملية ثقافية تخلق مفاهيم عامة وموحدة نتيجة لعوامل زمانية ومكانية محددة بعيدة عن أي تنوع طبيعي في الأفكار المتباينة الأكثر انعزالاً، وغير مرتبطة بالحقائق دومًا.

وبلا شك تعتبر تلك العملية إحدى الطرق المستخدمة لإعادة صياغة التصور والثقافة العامة لأي مجتمع؛ ففي الصين ظهرت مؤخرًا الكثير من الأعمال الموجهة للأطفال كدعاية رسمية تقدم الماركسية تارة ومعتقدات الرئيس الشيوعية تارةً أخرى حتى لو كان الواقع الثقافي والاقتصادي مختلفًا وهو الذي يعتمد على الرأسمالية، وكما قال الكاتب والصحفي اللبناني إلياس حرفوش في مقاله "شيوعية في الصين من دون شيوعيين" مبينًا التباين الشديد بين الدعاية التي تنتهجها الصين وواقعها الأكثر انفتاحًا على العالم من خلال بوابة الاقتصاد.

ففي محيطنا العربي سنجد كيف تأثرت الثقافة العربية على سبيل المثال بالأعمال الفنية، حيث تغير التعاطي مع الوقت خلال شهر رمضان بصورة جلية لمواءمة أكبر قدر من الأعمال المعروضة بعد أن كانت قبل بضعة عقود تُطوَّع هذه الأعمال لتتلاءم مع أوقات العبادات وتُراعى الثقافة المحلية، فتُعرض الأعمال التاريخية والمسابقات الدينية فقط.

بيد أنه ليس من المنصف تناول التأثير العكسي للفنون على الثقافة فقط من خلال السلبيات وكأنَّ الأمرَ مجردُ استثمارٍ مادي نَهِم لا يكترث بالحفاظ على الموروث الثقافي وقيم المجتمعات.

فإذا عدنا للوراء قليلًا وإلى فترة نهاية السبعينات الميلادية تحديدًا، سنجد أحد الأمثلة الإيجابية الأكثر تأثيرًا في الإنتاج الفني المرئي العربي، ألا وهي مؤسسة الإنتاج البرامجي المشترك لدول الخليج العربية، إذ يعتبرها الكثيرون قد قدمت الكثير للمجال الثقافي بالخليج من خلال برامجها وإنتاجها الذي عكس الطفرة الاقتصادية بالمنطقة، وواكب متطلبات وضرورة النهوض بالعمل الفني الهادف والفاعل الذي يعزز اتجاهات الثقافة السائدة وينمّيها دون صدام معها.

يقول المفكر عبد الوهاب المسيري: "المعرفة الإنسانية معرفة مقارنة، فنحن لا نعرف الشيء في حد ذاته، بل نعرفه في علاقته بشيء يشبهه وآخر يختلف عليه".

كذلك يعتبر كثيرون أن تأثير المسرح ساهم في نشر الأخلاق والتعاليم الدينية فيما مضى (أعمال شكسبير أنموذجًا)، ويمكن فهم العلاقة بين الثقافة بكل ما تحمله من معانٍ والفنون بكل أشكالها وصورها، من خلال التأمل في تأثير كل منهما على الآخر ومدى مقدرتهما على تغيير مسار حياة المجتمع.

وعليه، فلا توجد إجابة محددة بالمطلق من يصنع الآخر؟ الثقافة تصنع الفنون؟ أم الفنون تصنع الثقافة؟ بل الثابت أن الثقافة والفنون متلازمان، وهذا أمرٌ يقودنا للسؤال الأهم كيف نستطيع توظيف هذه العلاقة الفريدة في النهوض بالثقافة والفنون وتعزيزهما؟

الثابت أن الثقافة والفنون متلازمتان فيما بينهما وملازمتين لنا في حياتنا، وفي مراحل طفولتنا المبكرة وفي ريعان شبابنا المليء بالتساؤلات والتحديات، ولسنا عنها ببعيدين في كبرنا بل قد تكون أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى، فبالأغنيات الجميلة نستذكر أيامنا الخوالي وبثقافة مشبعة بالتجارب العميقة ننقل خبراتنا للأجيال القادمة لتكون أكثر تمكنًا وقدرة على صناعة ثقافتها وفنونها.

يمكن فهم العلاقة بين الثقافة بكل ما تحمله من معانٍ والفنون بكل أشكالها وصورها من خلال التأمل في تأثير كل منهما على الآخر ومدى قدرتهما على تغيير مسار حياة المجتمع.

لدينا ثقافة عظيمة قوية وثرية جدًا بتنوعها وأصالتها وفي المقابل لدينا قدرات فنية ضخمة وجبارة، فأعتقد أنه في ظل التغيرات المتسارعة والدعم الرسمي غير المحدود للثقافة والفنون؛ أنّنا بحاجة ماسّة لفهم طبيعة هذه العلاقة حتى نستطيع توجيه الثقافة والفنون للاتجاه الذي يدعم تطلعاتنا ويُظهر أجمل ما فينا ويُسهم في معالجات التحديات.

لو تأمّلنا تلك الفترة التي نجحت فيها مؤسسة الإنتاج البرامجي المشترك لدول الخليج العربي لوجدنا أنَّ المجتمع الخليجي حينها كان يعتبر القبيلة هي الركيزة الأساس له، كما أنه كان مجتمعًا متنوعًا ثقافيًّا وفكريًّا، لكن المؤسسة استطاعت أن تخاطِبَ كلَّ فردٍ خليجي وتقدم له المحتوى الفني الملائم الذي لم يتصادم مع حالة الاختلافات والتنوّعات في الخليج حينها، بل بالعكس أنتجت مادة فنية وإعلامية قابلة للاستمرار والتجدد لأنها ركزت على المعرفة بدرجة كبيرة وعزّزت القواسم المشتركة بين أبناء الخليج.

وإذا نظرنا لتنوع الأدوات الفنية إن صحَّ التعبير؛ فسنجد أنها أكثر انتشارًا وأسهل استخدامًا، فاليوم يستطيع أي مغنٍّ الوصول للشهرة بسرعة، وقد لا يُعدُّ إنتاج فيلمٍ أو مسلسلٍ بالأمر الصعب. وبناء عليه يمكن لأي أحد أن يُسهم في صناعة المحتوى الفني بسهولة، ومع هذه الميزة لعصرنا الحالي؛ فقد تكون الثقافة المحلية لأي مجتمع أكثر عرضة للتأثر بالفنون عمومًا.

 

 

 

 

الفئات

Header logo

Arts of all kinds have always told the stories of nations and civilizations and been the sensual reflection of culture and heritage. Some of those stories are told by architecture and construction. In Greece we find the Acropolis of Athens, an ancient citadel which bears witness to the philosophy of Greeks and their view of burden-bearing women. Moving to Egypt’s ancient antiquities, we notice that those who built great temples and shrines had no interest in building mansions and worldly dwellings, for Pharaonic philosophy and culture give precedence to the afterlife. Elsewhere, we see the influence of Islamic culture in the architecture of mosques whose pillars were established in a way that allows worshippers to get the rewards of praying in the first row, where human and animal decorations have been replaced with calligraphy and arabesque.

   Nowadays, however, the concept of art has become more inclusive, from the 7th art to the cinema, to artworks solely made for commercial purposes, such as TV series that are driven by audience numbers, which eventually last, or reach an end, based on results.      

If we grant that arts were a reflection and manifestation of culture throughout history, such an assumption would be very difficult to make about the relationship between the two in modern times.     

This is not about right and wrong, but about the extent to which art can redefine culture and free it from the shackles of absolute submission so that it could become more flexible and adaptive to today’s rapidly changing social, political, and economic demands.     

The Soviet director Sergei Eisenstein was the first to deploy cinematic work to propagate the revolution and promote communism, which Lenin later exploited to attract the illiterates, which resulted in making communism an essential trait of that Russian society that broke free from the Tsar’s control.

 

To add some perspective, I am quoting the following saying by Prof. Abdulmohsen Al-Mutairi: “By analyzing the montage of the Odessa Steps scene in Eisenstein’s Battleship Potemkin, we recognize that we are not mere spectators, but that we are actively engaged with the scenes. This means that Eisenstein made the footage in a certain way to directly influence and mentality and psychology of the viewers to gain their unconditional sympathy for the Russian Revolution.

However, when examining cultivation theory -which emerged after the violent events and unrest the U.S. witnessed in the late 1960s based on the theoretical foundations developed by George G. Gerbner (the founder of cultivation theory)-, we find that it considers cultivation a cultural process that creates general and unified concepts as a result of specific temporal and spatial factors far from any natural diversity of the most isolated ideas that are not always linked to facts. This theory assumes that “television offers a symmetrical world of messages and mental images that reflect the prevailing trend.”

Undoubtably, this process is one way of reshaping a society’s perceptions and culture. In China, recent works that target children propagate Marxism on the one hand and the president’s communist beliefs on the other, even if the cultural and economic reality is different from what is being propagated (since the reality is capitalist). According to the Lebanese writer and journalist Elias Harfouche in his article “Communism in China without Communists,” there is a great disparity between China’s propaganda and its world-welcoming reality through economy.

In the Arab world, Arab culture, for example, has been affected by works of art whereby how time is spent during the month of Ramadan has changed dramatically. In the past, artworks used to be podcasted while taking into consideration local culture and times of worship, and mainly they were about religious competitions and historical works of art. Today, however, artworks are podcasted all the time and throughout the month to catch the attention of the audience for as long as possible.

On a similar note, it is unfair to have a one-eyed view of the impact of arts on culture as if they were a mere commercial investment that does not consider preserving and promoting the cultural heritage and values of societies.     

Going a step back to the late 1970s, we find an influential and good example of an Arab visual art production: the GCC Join Program Production Institution (GCCJPPI). Many consider the GCCJPPI to have provided valuable cultural contributions in the Gulf region through its programs and its production that reflected the economic boom of the region and accommodated the need to improve meaningful and effective artistic work that promotes and develops prevailing cultural trends without conflict.     

The influential thinks Abdul Wahab El-Messiri said: “Human knowledge is comparative; we don’t know a thing in itself, we know it in relation to something similar to it and something different from it.”    

Moreover, many believe that the theater had contributed to spreading religious ethics and teachings in the past (the work of Shakespeare as an example) and that the relationship between culture, in all its aspects, and arts of all kinds could be understood by contemplating upon the impact each has on the other and by examining their role in changing societies.

Therefore, there is no definitive answer to the question: which creates the other. Rather, it is established that culture and arts go hand in hand, leading to a more important question: How can we use this unique relationship to advance and promote both? 

Culture and arts are intertwined and are an inseparable part of our lives, be it in early childhood or in the prime of our youth -when one is filled with questions and challenges. In adulthood, both are more important than ever. Through beautiful songs we remember our good old days, and through culture full of rich experience we pass on our heritage to future generations to empower them and help them create their own arts and culture.

The relationship between culture in all its aspects and arts of all kinds and forms could be understood by contemplating upon the impact each has on the other and by examining their role in changing the course of a society. 

We have a powerful, rich, and original culture on the one hand and huge artistic abilities on the other. Therefore, I believe that in light of rapid changes and unlimited support of culture and arts, we really need to understand the nature of this relationship to be able to direct culture and arts to a direction that meets our aspirations, shows the best in us, and helps us overcome challenges.    

By looking back at the time when the GCCJPPI succeeded, we would find that the Gulf society had then considered the tribe as its bedrock. Moreover, it was a culturally and intellectually diverse society. Given is reality, the GCCJPPI was able to address every individual in the Gulf and provide them with relevant artistic content without coming into conflict with the diversities prevalent in the Gulf at the time. On the contrary, the GCCJPPI produced viable art and media because it primarily focused on knowledge and promoted commonalities between people.     

    When looking at the variety of art tools -so to speak-, we would find that they are widespread and easy to use. Today, fame could be reached quickly and producing a movie, or a TV series is not that difficult. Therefore, anyone could easily contribute to the creation create artistic content, and given the advantages of our times, a society’s local culture is very likely to be influenced by arts in general.    

 

Categories