الذكاء العاطفي.. وأهميته في القيادة
Header logo

على مدار الـ 24 ساعة وبصفة يومية، نتفاعل مع الآخرين بطرق متعددة ومتنوعة، بدءًا من رسائل الواتساب مع الأصدقاء والعائلة، إلى رسائل العمل التي لا تنتهي عبر البريد الإلكتروني. ويتطلب كل تفاعل من هذه المعاملات إدراك ماهية كل منها، وطبيعة جميع المشاعر– مشاعرنا ومشاعر الآخرين– بدلًا من أن يغدو الأمر فوضويًّا وبسرعة!

هذا هو الذكاء العاطفي (EI) – الذي يعرف أحيانًا باسم "الحاصل العاطفي" (EQ)– وهو القدرة على الجمع بين تفكيرك ومشاعرك لبناء علاقات وطيدة واتخاذ قرارات صائبة.

يتضمن الذكاء العاطفي بعض المهارات الخاصة، والتي حددتها مجلة Psychology Today على النحو التالي: "الوعي العاطفي، أو القدرة على تحديد وتعريف المشاعر الشخصية؛ والقدرة على تسخير تلك المشاعر وتطبيقها على مهام مثل التفكير وحل المشكلات؛ والقدرة على التحكم في العواطف، والتي تشمل تنظيم مشاعر الإنسان عند الضرورة ومساعدة الآخرين على فعل الشيء نفسه."

عرَّف عالماء النفس، "بيتر سالوفي" و "جون د. ماير"، مصطلح الذكاء العاطفي في العام 1990، ووجدا أن هناك أربعة مستويات مختلفة من الذكاء العاطفي: إدراك العواطف، والتفكير بالعواطف، وفهم العواطف، والتحكم في العواطف.

 

لماذا يكثر الطلب على القادة ذوي الذكاء العاطفي القوي؟

في الماضي، كان يعتقد أن اكتساب الذكاء العاطفي "أمر جيد" لأنه يساعدك على عيش حياة سعيدة، ولكن أصبحت الشركات الكبرى الآن تدرك أنها ميزة أساسية وقوية تبحث عنها في القادة الذين يستعينوا بهم.

وكشف البحث الذي أجراه مزود  "الحاصل العاطفي" TalentSmart عن أن الذكاء العاطفي هو أقوى مؤشر على الأداء – مما جعل مديري التوظيف في كل مكان يستعدون لذلك.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قال 71٪ من أصحاب العمل الذين شملهم استطلاع CareerBuilder إنهم يقدرون الذكاء العاطفي أكثر من معدل الذكاء، حيث أفادوا بأن الموظفين ذوي الذكاء العاطفي العالي هم أكثر قدرة على البقاء هادئين تحت الضغط، وحل الأزمات بشكل فعال، والتواصل مع زملاء العمل بطريقة ودودة.

وعلَّق "دانيال جولمان"، مؤلف الكتاب الرائد، "الذكاء العاطفي: لماذا يمكن أن يكون أكثر أهمية من معدل الذكاء"، على هذا الموضوع قائلاً: "إذا لم تكن لديك قدرات عاطفية، لم يكن لديك الوعي الذاتي، وإذا لم تكن قادرًا على إدارة مشاعرك المؤلمة، فلن تستطيع التعاطف مع الآخرين وتكوين علاقات فعالة معهم، وبغض النظر عن مدى ذكائك، فلن يتحقق لك النجاح".

 

كيف تعلم ما إذا كان ذكاؤك العاطفي عاليًا أم منخفضًا؟

إذا جعلك كل هذا تتساءل عما إذا كان ذكاؤك العاطفي منخفضًا أم متوسطًا أم مرتفعًا، مما يؤثر على آفاق حياتك المهنية، فهناك بعض المؤشرات العامة التي يجب البحث عنها.

يرى الأشخاص ذوو الذكاء العاطفي المنخفض أنفسهم دائمًا "على صواب"، وغير مبالين بمشاعر الآخرين، ويلومون غيرهم على مشاكلهم، ولديهم قدرة ضعيفة على التأقلم، ويمرون بنوبات انفعالية متكررة، وغالبًا ما يغيرون دفة الأحاديث حول أنفسهم، كما أنهم غير قادرين على فهم أنفسهم وقدراتهم ونادرًا ما يفكرون في سلوكهم.

بينما يتقبل الأشخاص ذوو الذكاء العاطفي العالي النقد دون إنكار أو انزعاج، فهم منفتحون ومستمعون جيدون، ويعتذرون عندما يُخطئون، وهم صادقون ولكن بدون أن يكونوا فظين. كما أنهم أيضًا متعاطفون وقادرون على التأثير بشكل إيجابي على الآخرين.

في الحقيقة، ربما يقع معظمنا في مكان ما في المنتصف، وأننا جميعًا لدينا ذكاء عاطفي متوسط– ولكن يمكنك إجراء الكثير من الاختبارات عبر الإنترنت لإعطائك فكرة حول معدل ذكائك العاطفي!

إليك أحد الاختبارات المجانية من مؤسسة جلوبال ليدرشيب (Global leadership Foundation) لتبدأ به.

 

الأمر كله يتعلق بالمهارات الاجتماعية

يتمتع القادة العظماء ذوو الذكاء العاطفي العالي بمهارات شخصية واجتماعية عالية وهم متواصلون رائعون. وهم دائمًا ما يعكسون سلوكهم، ويمكنهم ذلك من تحديد نقاط قوتهم وضعفهم. كما أنهم قادرون على سماع الأخبار السيئة مثل سماعهم للأخبار الجيدة، وهم رائعون في إقناع فريق عملهم بدعمهم في مهمة أو مشروع جديد. لقد قدموا مثالًا يحتذى به في سلوكهم.

وتعني هذه المهارات الاجتماعية أنهم جيدون أيضًا في إدارة التغيير وحل الأزمات بحنكة ودبلوماسية.

ويمكنك بناء مهاراتك الشخصية والاجتماعية باتباع النصائح التالية:

  • فكر باستمرار في سلوكك وخبراتك، كما يمكنك أن تطلب دائمًا تعليقات بناءة للمساعدة على تعزيز وعيك الذاتي ومواصلة تطورك.
  • تحكم في عواطفك بمعرفة ما قد يساعدك على تهدئة انفعالاتك في أثناء المحادثات المحتدمة. ولا تتخذ قرارات حاسمة إلا عندما تدرك أنك تستطيع التحكم في قراراتك وعواطفك.
  • تعلم حل النزاعات – ينبغي على القادة معرفة كيفية حل النزاعات بين أعضاء فريقهم أو العملاء أو البائعين. وهذه مهارة متخصصة تمامًا، لذا ابحث عن الدورات أو ورش العمل التي تقدم هذا التدريب في المملكة العربية السعودية.
  • طور مهاراتك في التواصل– سيساعدك اختبار التواصل الذي تقدمه Mindtools على الإجابة عن هذا السؤال وتقديم ملاحظات مفيدة حول ما يمكنك فعله لتحسينها.
  • تعلم كيف تمدح الآخرين– فإنك كقائد، يمكنك تعزيز ولاء فريقك ببساطة من خلال مدحهم والثناء عليهم. ويمكنك تجربة هذا الآن! فكر في أشخاص في حياتك ممن تستطيع أن تكون أكثر دعمًا لهم في جهودهم. وسترى التأثير الإيجابي الذي يمكن أن تحدثه عاجلًا.

 

الفئات

The importance of Emotional Intelligence in leadership
Header logo

We interact with people every day – from WhatsApp messages with friends and family, to those endless work emails. Each interaction requires navigating emotions – our own and other peoples’ – and it can get messy, fast!

That is where Emotional intelligence (EI) – sometimes referred to as EQ (Emotional Quotient) – comes in. It is the ability to combine your thinking with your feelings to build quality relationships and make good decisions.

Emotional Intelligence includes some specific skills. Psychology Today magazine names them as: “emotional awareness, or the ability to identify and name one’s own emotions; the ability to harness those emotions and apply them to tasks like thinking and problem solving; and the ability to manage emotions, which includes both regulating one’s own emotions when necessary and helping others to do the same.”

The term Emotional Intelligence was defined in 1990 by psychologists Peter Salovey and John D. Mayer. They found four different levels of EI: perceiving emotions, reasoning with emotions, understanding emotions, and managing emotions.

 

Why leaders with strong EI are in demand

In the past, EI was thought of as ‘nice’ to have because it would help you lead a happy life. But now big business is understanding it’s an essential, powerful quality to look for in leaders they recruit.

Research by EQ provider TalentSmart showed that Emotional Intelligence is the strongest predictor of performance – which has made hiring managers everywhere sit up and take notice.

Plus, 71% of employers surveyed by CareerBuilder said they value EI over IQ, reporting that employees with high EI are more likely to stay calm under pressure, resolve conflict effectively, and respond to co-workers with empathy.

Daniel Golman, who wrote the ground-breaking book, Emotional Intelligence: Why It Can Matter More Than IQ, put it this way: “If your emotional abilities aren't in hand, if you don't have self-awareness, if you are not able to manage your distressing emotions, if you can't have empathy and have effective relationships, then no matter how smart you are, you are not going to get very far.”

 

 

How to know if you have high or low Emotional Intelligence

 

If all this has made you wonder whether your own Emotional Intelligence would be considered low, average or high – thereby affecting your career prospects – there are some general signs to look out for.

People with low EI must always be 'right’, are oblivious to other people's feelings, blame others for their problems, have poor coping skills, have frequent emotional outbursts, and often turn conversations toward themselves. They are also unable to understand themselves and their abilities and rarely reflect on their own behavior.

Whereas people with high EI handle criticism without denial or anxiety, are open-minded, are good listeners, apologize when they’re wrong, and are truthful but not cruel. They are also empathetic and are able to influence others’ positively.

 

The truth is, most of us probably fall somewhere in the middle and have average EI – but you can take plenty of online tests to give you an idea!

Here’s a basic free one from the Global leadership Foundation to get you started.

 

It’s all about social skills

Great leaders with high EI have top personal and social skills and are great communicators. They are always reflective on their own behavior and can pinpoint their own strengths and weaknesses. They are just as open to hearing bad news as good news, and they're fantastic at getting their team to support them on a new mission or project. They set an example with their own behavior.

These social skills mean they’re also good at managing change and resolving conflicts diplomatically.

You can build your own personal and social skills by:

  • Continuously reflecting on your own behavior and experiences. Also always ask for constructive feedback to help in enhancing your self-awareness and continue to develop.
  • Managing your emotions by knowing what helps you in calming you down during heated conversations. Make critical decisions when you know that you are in the right mind and your emotions are managed.
  • Learning conflict resolution – Leaders must know how to resolve conflicts between their team members, customers, or vendors. This is quite a specialized skill so look for courses or workshops in Saudi that offer this training.
  • Improving your communication skills – The Mindtools communication quiz will help you answer this question and give useful feedback on what you can do to improve.
  • Learning how to praise others – As a leader, you can inspire the loyalty of your team simply by giving praise. You can try this right now! Think of people in your life who you could be more vocally supportive of in their efforts. You will soon see the positive impact you can have.

 

Categories