Five essential tips for negotiating salary
Header logo

يشعر الكثير منا بالقلق عند التفاوض على الراتب مع صاحب العمل، خصوصًا إذ كانت الوظيفة جديدة، وليست الوظيفة الحالية، إذ يتزايد الخوف من فقدان فرصة الحصول على الوظيفة في حالة المطالبة بأجرٍ عالٍ. كما أن التفاوض بشأن زيادة المرتبات في منتصف المدة قد يضر بعض الأشخاص. إذا كانت لديك حجة جيدة لتبرير الزيادة، فمن العدل أن يدفع لك صاحب العمل ما تستحقه. وعلى الرغم من الضغوط المالية الناتجة عن جائحة كورونا، تشير بعض التقارير إلى أن الشركات السعودية مستعدة لرفع رواتبها خلال العام الجاري، وأن 41٪ من هذه الشركات دفعت مكافآت لموظفيها عن العام 2020.

إن كنت ترغب في تحسين طرق المفاوضة حول راتبك أو الاستعداد للمقابلات الشخصية أو بحاجة إلى المساعدة في كتابة سيرة ذاتية، فإن برنامج الاستعداد للحياة المهنية هو الحل والملاذ الأمثل بالنسبة لك.

التفاوض على راتبك مع صاحب العمل قد يؤدي إلى زيادة ثقته في قدراتك المهنية. قد تكون فرصة نادرة لتذكير الناس بما يمكن أن تجلبه للمؤسسة، وكم سيعانون ليجدوا بديلًا لك. في أسوأ الحالات كل ما عليك أن تخشاه هو الرفض. في هذه الحالة قد تحتاج إلى لتفكير إذا كان الوقت ملائمًا للانتقال إلى العمل في مكان آخر.

ستساعدك النصائح التالية على زيادة فرصة نجاحك وقت التفاوض على راتبك:

١) الحقائق والأرقام

الاستناد إلى عدد من الحقائق والأرقام سيقوّي حجّتك في أي مفاوضات. قد تشعر أنك تستحق أكثر من ذلك الراتب، لكن ما دليلك وبرهانك على ذلك؟ الإنترنت هو كنز من البيانات، وهو مكان رائع للبحث في متوسط الرواتب لوظيفتك في المجال الذي تعمل به. إذا كنت تعمل لدى منظمة كبيرة، تمعّن في الشواغر الحالية والحديثة وقارن رواتبها براتبك.

 

ويعد تجهيز قائمة بالأشياء التي قدمتها لصاحب العمل أساسًا جيدًا أيضًا عن التفاوض على الراتب. ناقش الأمر وكأنه استراتيجية تجاريّة. هل ساهمت في زيادة الإيرادات، أو تخفيض التكاليف، أو بعض الفوائد الملموسة الأخرى للشركة؟

 

٢) لا تربط الزيادة بالأمور الشخصية

ركّز على ما تستحقه وظيفيًا. إذا كنت تحقق المزيد من الربح، فمن العدل أن تطلب المزيد من المكافآت المالية. حقيقة أنك تريد المزيد من المال للإجازات أو لمساعدة أبنائك على مصاريف الكُليّة لا تعني أنك تستحق زيادة.

٣) تدرّب على الأسلوب 

قد تحصل على فرصة واحدة لطلب زيادة الرّاتب، فتدرّب على الأسلوب الذي ستطلب به هذه الزيادة. الأمر يستحق منك عناء التّمثيل أمام صديق إذا أتيح لك ذلك. فكّر في كيفيّة إدارتك للنقاش وصولا إلى الأرقام، وحدّد الرقم وحزمة الرواتب في ذهنك. كن واضحًا بشأن النّاتج الذي تريده، وتخيّل الأسئلة التي سيطرحها عليك.

 

٤) لتكن لديك خطّة بديلة

تفاوض على الراتب بإيجابيّة، لكن لا تتوقع الحصول على ما تريد من المرّة الأولى. إعداد خطّة بديلة في ذهنك يعني أنّك لن تصطدم بالحائط. قد يكون الرفض بسبب عجز الشركة عن رفع راتبك أو بسبب سياسة صارمة للمراجعات في تواريخ معينة. إذا لم تكن الزيادة خيارًا متاحًا، فما الذي سيقدمه صاحب العمل لمكافأتك؟ هل ستوافق على سبيل للزيادة إذا حققت أهدافًا خلال الأشهر المقبلة؟

 

٥) حافظ على المهنيّة

الشّعور بالإحباط وارد خصوصًا إذا كانت لديك حجة جيدة لزيادة راتبك وقد تم رفضها، ولكن حافظ على مهنيّة المناقشات؛ التهديد بالرحيل، أو انتقاد زملاء العمل أو سوء تصرف الشركة لن يحل قضيتك. إذا شعر الشخص الذي تتفاوض معه بالترهيب، قد ينهي مستقبلك المهني مع الشركة.

 

تُشير الإحصاءات إلى أنّ حوالي واحد من كل ثلاثة أشخاص لا يطرحون أبدًا موضوع مراجعة الرواتب مع أصحاب العمل، والسبب الأكبر لعدم قيامهم بذلك هو الخوف من الرفض. إذا اتبعت النصائح الواردة هنا، ستصل حتمًا إلى نتيجة إيجابية مع أي صاحب عمل عقلاني.

الفئات

Five essential tips for negotiating salary
Header logo

Negotiating salary with an employer is something many people aren't comfortable with, but it can make a big difference in how much you earn over your career. In the case of a new role, some fear they won't be selected if they ask for too much. Negotiating a salary increase mid-term can also fill some people with dread. Despite the financial pressures felt during the pandemic, some reports state that Saudi firms are willing to raise their salaries in 2021, and 41% of them have already paid bonuses for 2020.

If you have a good case to justify a raise, it's only fair that you're paid what your contribution is worth. The Career Readiness Program is the ideal platform for learning more about negotiating salaries, being better prepared for interviews, building flawless CVs, or learning useful networking tips.

 

Discussing salaries with your employer can result in increased confidence in your professional ability. It may be a rare opportunity to remind people what you bring to the organization and how they would struggle to replace you. At worst, all you have to fear is refusal. In this situation, you may need to consider whether it's time to take your skills and experience elsewhere.

 

The following tips will help you increase your chance of success when you are ready to negotiate your salary.

 

1) Do your homework

Having some facts and figures puts you in a strong position in any negotiation. You may feel that you're worth more to your employer, but what evidence do you have to support this? The internet is a treasure full of data, and it's a great place to research average salaries for your role in the industry. If you work for a large organization, look at current and recent vacancies and see how the salaries are compared to yours.

 

Preparing a list of the things you've delivered for your employer is also a good foundation for salary discussions. Approach it as if it were a business pitch. Have you contributed to an increase in revenue, a reduction in costs, or some other substantial benefit to the organization?

 

2) Don't make it personal

Concentrate on what your role is worth and what you bring to the business. If you're delivering more profit, it's fair to request more financial rewards. The fact that you want more money for vacations or to help your children through college doesn't mean you deserve a raise.

 

 

3) Practice your approach

You may only get one shot at making your pitch for a higher salary, so practice your approach. It's worth role-playing the meeting with a friend if you can. Consider how you'll lead the discussion up to the point of talking numbers, and have a figure and salary package in mind. Be clear about the outcome you want, and consider what questions your employer might throw at you.

 

4) Have a 'Plan B'

Approach a salary negotiation meeting positively, but don't expect to get what you want the first time. Having a plan B in mind means discussions won't hit a wall. A refusal may occur because the company can't afford to give you a raise or because there's a strict policy of reviews at set dates. If a raise now isn't an option, what can your employer offer you as an additional reward? Can you agree on a pathway to a raise if you meet specific goals over the coming months?

 

5) Keep it professional

 

It can be frustrating if you have a good case for a salary increase and it's declined but keep discussions professional. Threatening to leave, criticizing coworkers, or bad-mouthing the company won't help your case. If the person you're negotiating with feels intimidated, it could cast a shadow over your future with the company.


Surveys indicate that around one in three people never brings up the subject of a salary review with their employer. The biggest reason for not doing so is fear and the thought of rejection. If you follow the tips in this article, you should reach a positive outcome with any reasonable employer.

 

Categories